Southern Antidote

our fireroads all burned down, our storm gutters run dry
out ‘neath the auburn sun our sins drip from the sky
walkin’ into our town, the way we used to do
we didn’t think this land could turn into the devil born anew
I shake the dust off of my coat  – it ain’t no southern antidote.

I take a left down at big john’s store, a right by brother’s gas station
a turn by mother’s sorrow, around sister’s old frustrations
this town, it ain’t the same no more but the break of day still shines
even if it doesn’t break the disappointment in your eyes
I’ve lived long and I’ve hoped – it ain’t no southern antidote

down by the cemetery, a crooning blackbird cries
o’er our gravestones in the grass, filled-up five-by-five
I guess it’s time for me to join you, though I thought I’d got away
this town chews you up, but it don’t spit you out – your soul is here to stay
I sign my name upon this note – it ain’t no southern antidote.

I remember daddy told me once, “girl before this year is done,
your mother your brother, your sister and me, we’re gonna break free and we’ll run
across that green old valley, into horizon’s blueish hue,
and we’ll embrace a new tomorrow, a sultry morning dew”
I take swig of anecdote — it ain’t no southern antidote

October, 2016

Leave a Reply

